Turismo en Tierra del Fuego , Argentina
Buscar alojamientos, excursiones ,etc
Información de Argentina
Ubication of Buenos Aires Climate in Buenos Aires Relief in Buenos Aires Flora in Buenos Aires Fauna in Buenos Aires History of Buenos Aires Culture in Buenos Aires
   Río Grande
   4 Tracks
   Air Activity
   Nautical Activty
   Horse Riding
   Mountain Bike
   Golf Courses
   Ski Resorts
   Argentine Wines
   Rural Tourism
   The Tango  
   Tourist Trains
   Jesuitics buildings
   Nationals Parks
Navegando en Tierra del Fuego
Vista del Canal de Beagle desde la cadena Martial
Estancias de Tierra del Fuego
Faro Les Eclaireurs
Laguna Negra
The province of Tierra del Fuego, Antártida and islands of the south Atlantic (Malvinas, Georgia, Sandwich, Orcadas and smaller islands) it limits to the north with the waters of the ocean South Atlantic; to the east, with the ocean south Atlantic and the meridian 25 º west; to the south, to the 90º south in the plateau Antarctic, where all the terrestrial meridians converge; and to the west, with the meridian 74º west, with the waters of the ocean south Pacific and the Republic of Chile. The province of Tierra del Fuego, Antártida and islands of the South Atlantic are formed by a main island that has as limits Magellan's strait, to the north; the meridian 68º36', to the west, and the halfway line to the costs of the channel of Beagle, to the south. The island of 105 States, located to the east of the Big island of Tierra del Fuego, complete the continental part of the province.

The province of Tierra del Fuego, Antártida and Islands of the South Atlantic possess exclusive features inside the country:

It is the only Argentinean province whose capital, Ushuaia, is in an island.

Their population is distributed in only two cities and a small village, for ende, she has few inhabitants and her populational history is related in very narrow form with the economic evolution. As José it described Luis of Imaz in their work "The men of the world confine", the demographic growth has been more and more intense from 1943, year in which the Marine Government of Tierra del Fuego is believed and neighborhoods are built for the naval bases of Ushuaia and Big River, airports, other public works, and they settle diverse services, what constituted a pole of attraction for new residents from the rest of the country and of the foreigner.

The province embraces the Sector Argentinean Antarctic, island of the States, Malvinas and others of the South Atlantic. It is that of more surface. The productive human occupation (in the Big Island of Tierra del Fuego) it transforms it in the smallest provincial jurisdiction in the country.

These and other special characteristics of the island, as their fabulous reservation of landscapes and their good tourist offer, justify a visit.
The former National Territory of Tierra del Fuego, Antártida and islands of the south Atlantic were declared province May of 1990, 10 for law 23.775. It understands the oriental part of the Big Island of Tierra del Fuego, island of the States, island of New Year, islands Malvinas, islands Georgia of the south, islands Sandwich of the South, groups insular and other territories understood in the sector Argentinean Antarctic and internal islands of the channel of Beagle, according to the limits with the Republic of Chile. These are the most southern Argentinean lands.
The province in figures

It has a total surface of 1.002.445 km2, of those which 20.912 km2, they correspond to the Big island of Tierra del Fuego and the island of the States; 965.597 km2 to the Sector Antarctic; 11.410 km2 to the islands Malvinas; 3.560 km2 to the Georgia of the south and 307 km2 to the Sandwich of the south next to other smaller islands. according to the National Census of 1991 the population settled down in the Big island belonged to 69.369 inhabitants. the urban population's survey, carried out by the Address of Statistical of the province in 1977, estimates, for that same year a total of 92.175 inhabitants 46.489 males and 45.686 women. The projection of population of the INDEC (National institute of Statistic and censuses for the year 2000 belong to 115.538 inhabitants. 55.401 males and 60.13 7 women. The capital of the province is the city of Ushuaia.

Viajoporargentina - Información turística sobre la República Argentina
© 2003- Prohibida su reproducción total o parcial. Derechos de Autor 527292 Ley 11723